1. Home
  2. Electronics & Gadgets
  3. Radio
"DJ Reality Show" Website Suspicious
Dateline: 7/23/03
 Join the Discussion
Discuss in the Forum
 
 Related Resources
•  Back On The Air - And Now It's Personal
•  Radio Morning Man Terminology
•  So, You Wanna Work In Radio?
•  Confessions of a Morning DJ
•  How Do I Break Into Radio?
•  You Don't Have To Be On The Air To Be In Radio

If you have received an email from someone telling you there's this great talent search for DJs going on at AmericasRadioDJ.com - don't get too excited. Something doesn't seem right about this whole thing.

The website says:

America's Radio DJ is a new television series coming in 2004. 20 different people just like you will compete in front of a LIVE audience and millions of television viewers....

If you're chosen at one of the 20 different city auditions then you are on your way to compete in front of our LIVE audience. Beat the competition and you'll win a 12-month contract for your very own national radio show.

Exciting, eh? Although the website looks legitimate with pretty graphics, a list of audition locations, a studio script, and even an FAQ, I'm wary, very wary.

Here's why: Although the site claims it will have auditions in various cities, it doesn't say WHEN. But, it does have a link that says "Apply For The Show". When you click it, you are taken to another website called Realcasting.com where you are asked to fill out an online form to get into their "database". And, oh, they also ask you for between $19.95 and $24.95 as a "processing fee".

THIS IS A RED FLAG to me.

I'm not a TV executive or an employee at a television production company BUT my common sense questions the legitimacy of a company that would do a talent search and ask for such a fee.

So, I looked up who owns the website using Whois.net and it said the administrative contact was "ESC" located in Odessa, Florida with an email address of e_canonico@HOTMAIL.COM.

I immediately sent an email to this address asking if they would put my confusion to rest and assure me this was not a scam. The email BOUNCED back. Now, anyone who has ever registered a domain knows that it's imperative to maintain an accurate email address in your record - unless you don't care what happens to the domain when it's time to renew it - or you don't want people getting a hold of you. Besides, the AmericasRadioDJ.com domain was just registered a couple of months ago. It's odd the email address of record would no longer be valid.

So, then I did a reverse lookup on the phone number listed in the domain record, 813-926-7956, and it came up belonging to Morre Entertainment Llc. When I called the number, my call was forwarded to a voice mail system where I left a message telling them I was writing an article and wished to confirm the statements at their website. No one replied. I called the next day and was routed back to voice mail.

A search on Morre Entertainment Llc pointed me to one other website on the Internet: Rallyracer.com where it claims ANOTHER reality show is being put together which AGAIN, pointed people who wanted to apply to the realcasting.com website.

One final thing struck me. The realcasting.com website has a disclaimer that says:

"Should a situation arise that may prevent this program from proceeding, realCASTING.COM, Morre Entertainment LLC, their staff, ownership, their heirs, agents, appointees, sub contractors, and/or casting, directing and producing professionals subscribing to realCASTING.COM may not be held accountable and will not be required to refund any processing fee, if that applicant's information has already been processed."

This is very convenient. What they're saying in effect is, "After you give us your money, you're stuck no matter what. Show, no show, whatever. Thanks. Bye."

As badly as you may want to get into Radio or be a DJ, I would strongly warn you against AmericasRadioDJ.com until they can present some verifiable information. If they wish to contact me with facts that can change my opinion, I would more than welcome it.

In the meantime, if you REALLY want to be in Radio, read any of the articles in the box at the upper right for some good advice.

- Corey Deitz

Subscribe to the About.com Radio Newsletter for weekly site updates!

Previous Articles

Explore Radio

More from About.com

  1. Home
  2. Electronics & Gadgets
  3. Radio

©2008 About.com, a part of The New York Times Company.

All rights reserved.